Skip navigation

20 Comments

    • wootabega
    • Posted May 18, 2010 at 8:43 pm
    • Permalink

    Diversity should lay off the salty snacks. It seems like whenever she’s playing with Promethea she’s got a bag of them close by.

  1. Devon’s perpetual scowl een during a celebration reminded me of this comic:

    • Donna C.
    • Posted May 19, 2010 at 12:01 am
    • Permalink

    Awww, leave Diversity alone, woot…she cannot help it if she suffers PMS cravings! =oP

    • Jamie
    • Posted May 19, 2010 at 4:17 am
    • Permalink

    So, does this coming out make her a deb-u-Kant?

    • Steve T
    • Posted May 19, 2010 at 5:13 am
    • Permalink

    Devon’s ingrained scowl has more to do with the man-hating, feminist culture she is a part of, which is typically secular-humanist, and very antagonistic, if not out-rightly hostile to Christianity and the institutions that have closely based founding principles (the US Constitution, the Boy Scouts,…).
    If you recall Zack’s cartoon showing the Lane household celebrating the night of Obama’s election victory, she was scowling then, too (while tossing confetti).

    So, unless some outwardly lesbian-flamer gets elected President, I think we will see that scowl uninterrupted. Besides, Zack may not be able to fit a smile on her face – it might be as challenging as putting an elevator in an out-house.

    Good to hear from you Donna,… have you heard from MethodistMin, or Wakefield Tolbert ?
    I used to enjoy their comments…

    • geeknerd
    • Posted May 19, 2010 at 7:18 am
    • Permalink

    It seems we have lost our Marbles 🙂

  2. Moral Relativists always throw the best parties. Problem is, they’re never around afterward to help clean up the mess they made.

    • Max
    • Posted May 19, 2010 at 11:06 am
    • Permalink

    Truly, the only meaningful (yet utterly substanceless) definition of “progress” for “progressives.” As Chesterton noted, “Progress is a comparative of which we have not settled the superlative.”

    • john
    • Posted May 20, 2010 at 11:53 pm
    • Permalink

    I particularly like this one.
    Very good.

  3. wootabega: I know what you mean; Diversity really does lay into the chips way too much, as is evident from some of the drawings and also from her waistline. I’d like to make an official announcement here that this in no way reflects any possible proclivity for snax and junkfood that I might have.

  4. Scott: That’s hilarious! I could read that narrative all day, with the deadly serious, built-for-business superhero types scowling even in the midst of a joyous reunion. And, good point: Devon could relate.

    Donna: PMS– that would mean what, “Please, More Salt?”

    Actually this whole angle has a heavy psychological component going down behind the curtains: I’m thinking if I let her do all the snacking maybe it will slake my own overactive needs for Nacho Cheese Doritos.

  5. Jamie: Best pun of the week award, hands down. If I had a trophy to give you’d be getting it. In fact I went out to find such an item but realized I’d have to Schopenhauer or more for the right one.

    Steve T: “…an elevator in an outhouse.” Gotta love it! Thanks for remembering Devon’s earlier deadpan confetti-toss. It’s true, Obama’s election night was the last time she was genuinely happy, albeit you wouldn’t have known it from looking at her. https://diversitylane.files.wordpress.com/2008/11/diversitylane_obama-wins.jpg

  6. geeknerd: Man do I wish I’d said that.

    Marbles was fun, maybe he’ll come back. He managaed to inspire in you a most unexpected biblical reference, and on some perverse level I think I enjoyed him telling me my cartoons were trivial and giving me a chance to do a soapbox turn.

  7. Wesley M: Brilliant point; I almost want to draw up the scenario you’ve presented, as a sequel.

  8. Max: Just so… and “progression” is a lot like “Change,” isn’t it: progress to what? Change to what? Never were such vapid catchwords bandied about in such widespread lockstep.

    John: Thanks… I’m hoping this will spur leftists everywhere to mount such parties in their own homes. When they’re partying they don’t have as much time to destroy America.

  9. I’m guessing that your not actually familiar with Nietzsche’s work then from the suggestion he’s a moral relativist?

  10. Steve T:
    Stereotypes contain at least a grain of truth, of course, since they don’t just spontaneously generate from nothing.

    Having said that, I would ask if you personally know any lesbians. That was a one gee-golly heck of a Godzilla-sized paintbrush. And that’s a damn huge can of black paint.

  11. The moral relativism trope is perplexing to me.

    As with many of the stereotypes Diversity is forced to share her life with, I have no idea who these people are, and if I did I wouldn’t want much to do with them.

    The trope is centered around the idea that certain people are incapable of value judgments of right and wrong, since they are fixated on the “Who are we to judge?” mantra, even when staring stark evil in the face—genocides, honor killings, violent oppression, religious persecution, gang violence, etc. etc.

    Who are these people?
    Where does their tiny community reside?
    Who among our DC politicians comes from that community?
    Who among the punditry does?
    Who in acedamia (O Acedamia, ye villified leper, ye)?

    (I suppose Ward Churchill’s big mouth might spring to mind, but even that wouldn’t be quite accurate. Doesn’t mean he’s not an insensitive garden slug, though.)

    I’m reminded strongly of the early days after 9/11, when this trope was waved around like a nunchaku, more in *anticipation* than in response to anything that actually was said. Identically to the “race card” charges brought up against, of all people, Barack Obama.

    • Steve
    • Posted September 5, 2010 at 3:49 pm
    • Permalink

    Marbles,
    First – I have known a wide cross-section of gals who were/are homosexual.
    They ranged from the WWII generation, all the way up through some of the present LUG’s – “lesbian until graduation”… those younger gals who regard a “lesbian” experience as a fun fad… until a near future & convenient change comes their way.

    I even enjoy listening to Tammy Bruce, an openly lesbian, pro-2nd Amendment, pro-abortion/choice, nearly Reagan-like mostly conservative radio show host (if you are not familiar with her – go look up her talk show)

    Your comment reflects the fact that you not only missed the direct context of my comment, you did not really read it… perhaps missed a few (key) words?
    “Devon’s ingrained scowl has more to do with the man-hating, feminist culture she is a part of, which is…”
    And-!… the items I noted thereafter are darn, spot-on accurate for & about Devon, her character, and the sub-sector of what culture SHE represents.

    I did not – nowhere in what I wrote, imply any generality about women who like to get ‘nekid’ with other women.

    I have seen this misunderstanding before – the mistake I often make is assuming most folks reading this have seen every one of Zack’s cartoons, and the character descriptions. I even listened to his radio interview two summers ago, on the ‘Conscience of Kansas’, the Paul Ibbetson Show. Unfortunately, I think this archived show is no longer available to listen to.

    Further, I used to live in Ann Arbor, Michigan… a very, very close-cultured cousin to the community setting where Zack has these characters living, Berkeley, CA.
    I have seen more counter-culture freak-shows than I care to recall.

    So – your characterization of my alleged “… heck of a Godzilla-sized paintbrush…” is a total flop.

    Either this sub-culture I reference is very unfamiliar to you, or I hit a ‘sore spot’ of yours,… either way, that ‘paint brush’ characterization is an old technique of avoiding discussion of issues and their merits.

  12. Steve:
    My point was that from your original comment–which yes, I did read all of–one would never know that you’ve personally met anything but the most grotesque walking caricatures that feminist/lesbian culture(s) have to offer. Broad statements made without any qualifiers, leave room for no other interpretation besides “Oh, he thinks they’re all like that.”

    And giving the benefit of the doubt is something that gets harder and harder to believe in, as otherwise sane, grounded people are capable of the most breathtaking sweep judgments and irrational prejudices.

    The “sore spot” is my aversion to using broad brushes on any group of people without qualifying the observation. It’s folly at best. From your reply, you didn’t intend it that way, but I’m pointing out that that’s how it would be interpreted by many.

    No, I’m not familiar with the culture. Can’t say I regret that, since I have no interest in contrariness for its own sake. That’s how I’d characterize both Congressional GOP behavior and a certain chunk of liberal activism.


Leave a comment