Skip navigation

16 Comments

    • wootabega
    • Posted May 2, 2010 at 9:24 am
    • Permalink

    Kids still visit music stores? Are Alex and Allison forbidding use of the internet to Jason?

    • wootabega
    • Posted May 2, 2010 at 9:30 am
    • Permalink

    Also, what music is he listening to? I hope it’s not…*gasp* Rap music!

  1. wootabega: I think it’s one of those few remaining collectors’ shops with rare oldies by people like Keely Smith, or Bob Willis… Diversity likes stuff like that sometimes. Jayson just likes to steal. Doesn’t matter if it’s rap or whatever. He claims it’s his Right to take things that aren’t his because he really, really wants them.

  2. Guess it’s not as much illicit fun downloading mp3s off Pirate Bay.

    • wootabega
    • Posted May 3, 2010 at 7:51 am
    • Permalink

    I don’t know, I never found much fun in stealing. I guess I could only understand if it was something I wanted, but if he’s just doing it to steal…why steal it if it’s something you would have paid for?

    • Steve T
    • Posted May 3, 2010 at 7:06 pm
    • Permalink

    Hmmm,
    If Jason had a father who knew something about guiding and directing decent character development, this little snot would get;
    – an “undocumented” painful ass-tanning when he got home, followed by
    – an “undocumented” visit to return the CD’s, followed by
    – an “undocumented” 6 months of being totally grounded and
    – a total “undocumented” prohibition of internet, I-pod, I-tunes,… with lots of
    – “undocumented” actual classic books to read (consisting of print on paper with bindings), with
    – tons of extra “undocumented” chores to perform.

    Oops, I am “undocumented”-ly too old fashioned!

    • Jamie
    • Posted May 4, 2010 at 12:35 pm
    • Permalink

    Jason probably feels that he “needs” the CD… And isn’t a basic tenet of Obama, “to each according to his needs”?

    • Donna C
    • Posted May 5, 2010 at 6:50 pm
    • Permalink

    BRAVO Steve T.! I’m with ya on all that “undocumented” punishment!

    And applause applause applause to you Jamie…lmbo here!

    • Steve T
    • Posted May 5, 2010 at 7:40 pm
    • Permalink

    Thanks Donna-
    I was half-expecting one of our liberal friends to excoriate me over the evils of all corporal punishment, and my other abusive, tyrannical, medieval impositions and the life-long scarring and terrible, irreversible impact on a young person’s self-image.

    Gee – after recalling that pulp-progressive child development diatribe, I think I might ask Sierra for a joint and a few of her therapy crystals… so as to avoid the alternate-reality hangover!

  3. wootabega, Scott, Jamie, Steve, Donna: I’m wondering if I was successful in even getting my point across in this one. The subject wasn’t supposed to be particularly about stealing CDs; was meant as a metaphor for illegal immigration, in which [as in this cartoon analog] the word “illegal” is replaced with “undocumented”– and that’s supposed to make the crime okay. Was this unclear? (Can I see a show of hands) If anyone wants to get back to me about whether this one is too opaque I’d love to hear it; it may be that the drawing needs some revision, some way of tipping off the viewer that illegal immigration is the topic at hand.

    • wootabega
    • Posted May 6, 2010 at 8:55 am
    • Permalink

    Zack: No, I understood your point just fine. I was just interested in Jayson and Diversity’s musical tastes. I pegged Jay as a pop-punk type of kid.

    I guess if you wanted to probably have some sort of juxtaposition to more accurately carry the analogy across, you could have some Mexicans in the background heading into a voter registration office.

    Steve T: How parents deal with their children in punishments is their business. Unless it was something REALLY cruel and unusual, as in life-threatening damage. If it were me, I probably would have done most of what you would done. Only, instead of restricting access to the internet for him, I’d just show him tons of good sites to illegally download music from, like every normal kid does!

    Also, an “ass-tanning” seems rather luxurious of a punishment… Why not spank him?

    • Steve T
    • Posted May 6, 2010 at 12:03 pm
    • Permalink

    Wootabega,
    Sorry, perhaps I used a regional expression, but I understand an “ass-tanning” to mean a very painful spanking… yielding a deep red (w/ a few welts), painful hind end with either a belt, wood spoon, hand,…etc.

    • Donna C.
    • Posted May 7, 2010 at 6:09 pm
    • Permalink

    The point was crystal clear, Zack…but of course, we’re going to also comment on the analogy. I think the mentality is the same amongst the left, regardless the situation, as you so clearly illustrated here.

  4. wootabega: it’s not a bad suggestion, i.e. the registering Mexicans in the background; but yours and Donna’s feedback now reassures me that the cartoon may well stand on it’s own without need of further cues.

    Steve T: Hilarious misinterpretation of an “ass-tanning” courtesy of wootebega, eh? Or was he joking? Am now left contemplating a culture in which separate, specific body-areas are tanned while other parts are left pale…

    Donna: Thanks for that, you go a long way to reassuring me on this cartoon. I was afraid I might have to redraw the whole thing with e.g. some background Mexicans heading into a voter registration office, as wootabega half-suggested… plainly more extra work than I have the energy for.

    • ReFlex76
    • Posted May 13, 2010 at 9:24 pm
    • Permalink

    Funny thing, I never hear drunk drivers called “illegal motorists,” I never hear jaywalkers called “illegal pedestrians,” yet when it comes to undocumented immigrants . . .

    • Steve T
    • Posted May 13, 2010 at 10:33 pm
    • Permalink

    Reflex,
    If someone drives without a license, they are an illegal motorist, and it happens to be called, “driving without a license”. There are some serious consequences that come with that. Being a pedestrian requires no license, and frankly, jaywalking citations are how common?

    Also, being illegally in a country is an existential condition, not temporary illegal behavior like driving without a license or jaywalking.

    Immigration is either something that folks do according to the laws (legal immigrant), or in violation of the laws, illegal immigrant.

    As a couple hundred other countries call it “illegal immigrant”, and some countries like N. Korea get really viscous about it, and unless you subscribe to the “blame America first” culture, what is wrong with calling it what is ?

    Contrary to the degenerate and reprobate ideologies saturating the UN, and contrary to a recent proclamation from someone in that cesspit who stated that people had a human right to violate our immigration laws, we are a sovereign country, and have every right to defend and secure our borders.

    Illegal is illegal, is still illegal…., despite the fact that the Democrat party has no shame in dredging for votes anyway possible for their entitlement agenda, where ever they can get them, either through compromising our right to secure borders, or election fraud (ref. Minnesota’s shameless Al Franken-fraud, Al Gore’s attempt to hijack the Florida vote in 2000, JFK’s election in 1960), or laws that give convicted felons the right to vote (a Clinton era attempt).

    I used to live in Michigan, close to Canada. Try entering Canada in contravention to their laws. It won’t be fun, and you will not be treated in a ‘sensitive’ manner.


Leave a comment