Skip navigation

diversitylane_daisies_for-blog

11 Comments

  1. I didn’t see the gravestone right away and thought the caption was going to say something like “WOW, even at college football half times they’re indoctrinating the audience!”
    yours is better 🙂

    • Buckitz
    • Posted September 6, 2009 at 4:09 am
    • Permalink

    For a second, I thought the words were spelled out with forehead crushed beer cans

  2. Naw, Z, yours is plenty worthy: I can easily see Allison shedding a tear over the sheer poignancy of Halftime Indoctrination. But– PLEASE don’t give Fearless Leader any ideas, huh?

    Buckitz: Beer cans would kind of make sense as a memorial to Teddy, I must admit.

    • Steve T
    • Posted September 6, 2009 at 6:47 am
    • Permalink

    From reliable sources, I understand that Grey Goose, Absolute Vodka, and Tangerey gin were among his preferred ‘liquid courage’.

    I suppose those ’empties’make for well-formed fonts, but then the drunkard-lion of the Senate didn’t have very good diction, either… sort of a fair parallel(?).

    • Steve T
    • Posted September 6, 2009 at 6:58 am
    • Permalink

    Oops-!
    Typo error…

    Should have been; I do not suppose those ’empties’ make for well-formed fonts…

    See, if I one of the dozens of speech writers o’l Teddy had (at tax payer expense), I would have nailed it right, the first time.

    JUST to be bi-partisanly fair, I believe NO Senator, or Congress-critter should be allowed to have any speech writers, ‘proofers’, or any such other staff, that can cover for their communication errors, skills, or lack, there-of.

    The American public should see, in the most transparent way possible, just how literate, how well any elected official can compose their material, speak from it, and have it in the Congressional record, grammer errors and all.

    If that had been the case for the past forty-five years, the common expression would be; “…why Teddy cannot read”.

  3. Brilliant point Steve, or at least your point as I understand it: the daisies do make for a fairly ragged message, and in life The Lion was prone to hoarse, ragged diatribes and a pretty damn ragged moral sense as well.

    Still, I hope my readers, liberals especially, appreciate the genuine Teddy tribute this cartoon represents, reflecting his eternal vigilance to his core causes (rotten as they may be).

  4. I had figured out your point Steve, no problem. Fortunately some of us do not start our day with Grey Goose, Absolut or Tanqueray and thus have our wits about us to a reasonable degree.

  5. Good thing coffee was not on that list Zack or I’d be in BIG trouble!

  6. As would I, Vegas, as would I. I frequently have to check my new drawings for accidental coffee stains. But luckily coffee doesn’t impair one’s clarity to the extent of driving off bridges & stuff.

    • Steve T
    • Posted September 6, 2009 at 9:28 am
    • Permalink

    Zack-
    I recall when M. Jackson ‘assumed room temp.’, if there would be some satire made of the plastic surgeons who might be out of work – and sure enough, along came a cartoon showing several professionally dressed guys, sitting in the front row near MJ’s casket, balling their eye’s out.
    The caption was of someone asking if they were family – and the answer was, “No – they are the plastic surgeons who are now unemployed’.

    By the same parallel, I wonder of there should be a parady showing the VP of Sales from the major distilleries, weeping & balling at Teddy’s coffin.

    What a sales slump-!

    Oohh-! Not to lose hope – there are more Kennedy’s following in ‘Captain Oldsmobiles’ footsteps-!!

  7. Now now, Steve T.: For the sake of the young women they drive home from parties, let’s hope the next generation of Kennedys mostly do NOT follow in Ted’s sloppy, staggering footsteps.


Comments are closed.