Skip navigation

diversitylane_exposure__for-blog

28 Comments

  1. Wow, excellent Zack! Even in the water! He’s everywhere!

  2. Thanks Jose, and indeed he is hard to escape. Only thing he hasn’t yet tried is leafletting our cities from the air with “Accept Obamacare” flyers.

    • Jake
    • Posted September 21, 2009 at 11:35 am
    • Permalink

    Yeah, I really wish people would stop talking about Obama. It’s not like he’s the president or anything.

  3. I think the lamp may be too much

  4. Right, Jake– he’s president; not king, monarch, emperor…

    Chuck: What, you don’t think the administration is trying to rig and influence the electricity that comes into our homes??

  5. You forgot the Genuine Official Limited Edition Commemorative Plate.

  6. Jeffersonian: There’s only so many of these images I have the stomach for drawing in one cartoon.

    • Max
    • Posted September 21, 2009 at 2:33 pm
    • Permalink

    I’m afraid both Jake and Zack are wrong. Remember, Evan Thomas at Newsweek has informed the nation that Obama is god.

  7. I will use tsc from now on instead of Chris just in case Chris E decides to come back and finally answer my question ūüôā

    Nice one Zach. All I can say is thank goodness football season has started so I can watch TV again. I almost threw my shoe at my TV last time I heard Obama speak…and I’m not even Muslim…go figure.

  8. TSC there is also the Military Channel, The History Channel, FNC, The Discovery Channel etc…

    ūüėČ

    • ikabod
    • Posted September 21, 2009 at 9:33 pm
    • Permalink

    Take a deep breath tsc and try to keep yourself calm. Its going to be a long 4 years. I feel your pain. I like this one Zach… Sort of either “Find Obama” or “Can you find all the things that don’t belong?”

    • Jake
    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 1:19 am
    • Permalink

    “he‚Äôs president; not king, monarch, emperor‚Ķ”

    This site in the only place I’ve seen anyone claim he is a monarch. Did you have a point, or are you just talking out of your rear?

    I mean really, it seems as though this comic is suggesting that the president should not talk with the public. Are you saying that being a Great Communicator is the worst thing a president could ever do? I’m glad to hear that you think Reagan was a worthless narcissist.

    • buzz bannister
    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 5:19 am
    • Permalink

    Well Done Zack…nice touch with the water faucet I might add.

  9. Jake – do you really not understand the concept of the cartoon or are you just our most recent troll?

    I assume the later, but just in case it is the former – Obama is using the media to push his agenda on the American people unlike other Presidents. It is reference to 2 joint sessions of Congress, a all day health care special, the recent media tour (minus Fox), and 2 late night show appearances. It is also reference to the amount of positive attention in the other media outlets. (while ignoring his poor decisions and judgment.)

    And through all of this the ‘great communicator’ has yet to communicate how this health care plan will work or directly answer any of our questions. He just spews out the same old lines, many of which are not true. I can detail out each of them if you wish…just let me know.

    • Jake
    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 7:18 am
    • Permalink

    How dare the president address those who elected him. The nerve of that man. Talking to the public. How awful. No president before this has ever addressed the nation or spoken to the media.

    He should follow Bush’s approach and not talk to anyone. Just ram things through, ignore the public, and call himself “the decider”. That’s what you want, right?

    • Manuel Calavera
    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 7:45 am
    • Permalink

    That’s what I want him to do at least. Stop trying to be bipartisan, push healthcare reform through…. then watch Republicans in three years say they were behind it the whole time, that they always wanted healthcare reform… And that we were always allies with Eastasia, and were always at war with Eurasia.

  10. Jake and Manuel, you both have been Brainwashed, I’m totally convinced now. If you don’t realize that he is over emphasized, then you have no “hope” anymore. Or do you proudly wear a “change” T-Shirt of him when you are in public? Snap to your senses, you fools, you droids! Do you have a mind of your own??? Speak for yourselves!

    • Jake
    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 8:21 am
    • Permalink

    I’m not a particularly big fan of Obama. I am disappointed that he is a center-right politician who only paid lip service to progressivism in order to get elected. However, I think complaining about the president making speeches and being discussed on the news is really dumb. He is the president, whether you wack-jobs like it or not, and the media is going to report about him. Being offended that the president actually addresses the citizens is amazingly stupid.

    But hey, you’ve obviously drank the reactionary right-wing flavor-aid of Fox and Limbaugh, so there is really no hope for any of you to have an independent thought. Reality will still be here, if you ever decide to return.

  11. Jake and Manuel – The problem is not that he is addressing the people, it is what he is addressing the people with. The people are tired of him trying to ram through his agenda with the same old talking points and misleading statements. The media are not asking the tough questions for the most part so they are aiding his agenda and not acting as the watchdogs they are designed to be. They are not presenting both sides of the story. They are presenting a story much like what you stated…that conservatives do not want reform. We do want reform, but not reform that expands the federal government or creates more deficit spending. The bills before Congress now do both.

    Have you read the 3 pieces of legislation presented by Republicans on health care reform since you say we do not want reform? Or even the Blue dogs proposals?

    Can you please explain to me how the 50+ bureaucracies created in this legislation will work together and make health care more efficient? In all the President’s rambling, he has not communicated this.

    Can you explain how the government is not going to ration care when all governments using similar health care systems currently are? The President has not. (I will warn you this is kinda a trick question)

    There are no details coming from the President, only misleading generalities, a formula developed by Ezekiel Emanuel that Obama is following to a T.

    I could really go on forever, but do I need to? Conservative outlets have shown what statements they deem misleading. Can you prove to me that they are not misleading? Up to the challenge?

    • Jake
    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 8:56 am
    • Permalink

    Can you explain to me how insurance companies are not rationing care under the current system?

    Can you explain how bureaucrats employed by health insurance companies look out for patients rather profits?

    “The people are tired”

    While you are amongst “the people”, it is not the case that your feelings are representative of those of “the people” as a whole. You are not the voice of the people, regardless of your delusions of grandeur.

    I don’t like any of the plans I have seen so far, so you’ll have to find someone else to defend them. They all look like big handouts to insurance companies, with only the smallest hints of reform.

  12. Jake – You didn’t answer my questions which is very revealing but I will answer yours.

    You answered my trick question with another trick question. No matter what we do medical care will always be rationed. The demand is simply higher than the supply. Simple concept. The real question is who decides how it is rationed. The market or the government. I imagine you believe the government. I believe the market. At least with the market the medical industry (Doctors)gets to decide what should be done. Despite Obama’s rhetoric, rationing will happen when you have a government run health care system. Other countries are experiencing this very thing right now. Even Massachusetts is experiencing it. You should read Ezekiel Emanuel’s paper on how this should be done. He basically says it should be by your perceived benefit to society. Who decides that. Would you be kosher if the government decided that the procedure you needed was not worth the cost? It sounds crazy but these are the decisions plaguing other governments right now and I am afraid it will happen here as well.

    You will have to explain your use of the word bureaucrat. The word connotes someone within an institution of a government so I would agree any red tape that raises costs needs to be reformed. I hate to tell you though that the data does not support your claim. The two red flags for this behavior are excessive executive pay or excessive returns to shareholders. Neither are the case here. Graef Crystal (compensation expert) did analysis of the 5 major insurers and found below-market pay and below-market shareholder returns.

    So did you read the Republican and Blue dog plans? You answered that like a politician.

    Polls and network viewership back up my claim about the people being tired of what they are seeing. I have no delusions of grandeur.

    And as a final note I have every right to complain when the President is misleading the American public and the MSM are not calling him on it. I think you missed my point on that. The challenge still stands.

    • Manuel Calavera
    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 11:37 am
    • Permalink

    @Cubanology – no, I’ve never seen a “Change” or “Hope” shirt in person even. Thanks for the prejudice (“pre judging”, assuming something that may apply to one person applies to everyone in that group) tho all the same.

    I still stand by my view of “fuck bipartisanship and push through healthcare reform.” We need something like what Canada has, where there’s far less rationing than there is here. Now if that’s “drinking the liberal Kool-Aid” that’s your view and it doesn’t bother me. I’ll assume most of the commenters here are older than I am (22) and would benefit greatly more from the same reform you so viciously oppose.

  13. Hey Manuel.
    I wouldn’t use Canada as an example. Here are a few articles.

    http://www.nytimes.com/2006/02/28/international/americas/28canada.html

    http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2005/03/20/health/main681801.shtml

    http://www.ibdeditorials.com/IBDArticles.aspx?id=299282509335931

    I took them from over the last several years with the last one describing the current views of the founder of Canadian health care. And I am not that old. At least I hope 30 isn’t old. ūüôā

    • Jake
    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 9:01 pm
    • Permalink

    Why should I be obligated to defend health care plans that I already said I don’t like? Seems like a pretty dumb challenge.

    • Jake
    • Posted September 22, 2009 at 9:12 pm
    • Permalink

    “You will have to explain your use of the word bureaucrat.”

    Oh, and check definition 1b and 3. Bureaucracy is not limited to the government.

    merriam-webster.com/dictionary/bureaucracy

  14. Manuel, don’t worry about my health, that’s my problem. You worry about your health and I worry about mine. The topic under discussion here is Zack’s illustration. You cannot possibly tell me that Obama’s image is not overemphasized. You have to be blind, Manuel! You are telling me that you never seen an Obama T-Shirt on anybody? You never saw an Obama mural either? I see them everywhere! You say that you are 22 years old, what the hell do you care so much about politics? lol! Anyways, when you get a chance Manuel, please send me an email, it’s right there on my website. I would like to ask you a question, if possible. Thank you!

  15. Jake – that is not my challenge. My challenge was not to defend his plan. Please re-read the initial post. I do not think it is a dumb challenge. You questioned why we would care if the President’s message was all over the media. I answered that he is not being truthful and the media is not calling him on it.

    I know the definition of bureaucrat. I asked for clarification of who you are talking about since it is a term normally associated with government. Executives are not called bureaucrats. I did answer your question though. By showing they have below market pay and shareholder returns, you cannot blame them for all the health care costs. The facts do not support your claims.

    Based on your response, I will assume you agree with my other points.

    • Manuel Calavera
    • Posted September 23, 2009 at 10:09 am
    • Permalink

    Not in real life I haven’t. I’m being totally serious. I have seen bumper stickers. But then again, I still Bush 2000 and 04 stickers. Maybe it’s because I live in the suburbs instead of “the big scary city”, where I DID live for three years in Pittsburgh when I was going to school. No, I don’t think he’s overemphasized as you put it…because he’s the President of our country. May as well ask the question in public though. That way neither of us can claim to be hiding something from everyone.


Comments are closed.

