Skip navigation

The Barn is a fresh new blog I think a lot of my readers will appreciate.  The writing is super-smart but edgy, big-hearted but pulling no punches.  Even some fine rock music manages to find its way in, bolstering my longtime belief that it is conservatism, not left/liberalism, that most aptly reflects the true edgy spirit of rock.   (In an age when the typical would-be “dangerous” rocker’s opinions conform rather closely to those of Katie Couric, my faith in the politico-ideological underpinnings of the current rock scene has been pretty well shattered.)  Anyway, check out The Barn, you’ll have fun and learn a lot too.

7 Comments

    • Jake
    • Posted July 28, 2009 at 10:24 am
    • Permalink

    Huh, I took a look at that site and saw a lot of Radiohead there. I don’t know about Couric, but it looks like Radiohead supports passing laws to help prevent Global Warming. Is that the edginess you were talking about?

    http://www.nme.com/news/nme/44719

  1. I was speaking more generally, Jake; to wit: that regardless of their particular views on this or that issue, they are rockers, and generally speaking rebelliousness against the Mainstream (as in, for example, “mainstream media”) is the essence of Rock. Which is why, ideally, it is such a good fit for fans of rock to be conservatives. To name just one outlet, entertainment: when virtually all of TV (other than the Fox network) holds a liberal-to-Left take on the world, those who cleave to a taste in the edgy (e.g. rock music) do well to take a serious look at modern conservatism’s out-and-out frontal attack on the cherished yet now-antiquated views of the pervasive ideologies of T.V.Land.

    • Jake
    • Posted July 28, 2009 at 10:58 am
    • Permalink

    Wanting the world to resemble “Leave It to Beaver” sure is edgy and rebellious.

    • Dave
    • Posted July 28, 2009 at 12:04 pm
    • Permalink

    Haha. I write the Barn. Jake, you are dead on. But if we stopped listening to music, movies and TV by liberals, all we’d be left with is Toby Keith, Kirk Cameron, and 7th heaven.

    I can look beyond the ideals of the musicians and enjoy their place in the world, something they don’t have the ability to do with conservatives.

    Thanks for the shout-out Zach.

    • Jake
    • Posted July 28, 2009 at 12:50 pm
    • Permalink

    Actually, Toby Keith considers himself to be a Democrat. I was surprised to hear that too. I guess you are just left with Kirk Cameron now.

    I generally like experimental and arty rock, but I really can’t get into Radiohead. I am not sure why. A lot of their stuff just doesn’t seem raw enough, I guess. I am more into the punk/noise end of experimental rock, like the Velvet Underground and Sonic Youth. I think Radiohead is more in line with prog rock, like a modern day Pink Floyd. However, when I am in the mood for music in the style of Floyd, I usually just listen to Dark Side of the Moon.

    • Dave
    • Posted July 28, 2009 at 10:23 pm
    • Permalink

    I love velvet Underground, Lou Reed, but despise Sonic youth. For some reason they seem to be trying too hard. but sounds like you have good taste.

    keep reading.

    http://admin-thebarn.blogspot.com/

    • noactive
    • Posted January 11, 2010 at 1:14 am
    • Permalink

    Proud to hang out at this Barn .Thanks for nice post.I added to my twitter.


Leave a Reply

